PureCM Professional Benefits Features Compare PureCM Editions PureCM Standard Benefits Features Compare PureCM Editions Resources PureCM Components Integrations SCM Comparison Online Demos White Papers Customers Documentation
Get your free trial

Developer Workspaces

As a developer, you should be able to make changes in your own sandbox. You'll want to build and test them before they are integrated. And you'll want to work from any location. Welcome to PureCM's workspaces. Of course, PureCM also supports multiple workspaces per user so you can work on multiple projects at the same time.

Automated Change Detection and Integration

As each developer has their own project copy, they can work on their changes in isolation. They can build and test their solution and decide when they are ready to get their colleagues' changes. And PureCM cuts out human error by automatically detecting and highlighting files that are different in the workspace and the server - providing previews and one-click updates.

Powerful Support for Concurrent Development

Private workspaces allow working on the same files at the same time. Developers get live information about who is working on which files and who has submitted which change. They can automatically integrate changes into their workspace, using PureCM's own visualisation tool or any third party diff/merge tool.

Shelving for Better Collaboration

Ever wanted to store an unfinished change on the server, so it is safely backed-up? Or pass a change to a colleague for completion or review? That's what you can do with PureCM shelving. You can shelve any changeset on the server, from where they can be downloaded into the same or another workspace. Even across branches in a project or by your colleagues.

Full Offline Versioning Capabilities

PureCM workspaces provide two modes: a light and a full mode. Both give developers a project copy in which they can edit files, create checkpoints or roll them back. The full mode even includes the complete file history for remote development without server connection. That's all the information you need, so it comes in handy that you can create multiple changesets to organise all you've done on the train.

Checkout or Always Writable

As a default, files in a workspace are read-only, so they need to be checked out before edit. This is not a problem if you are working with an IDE integrated with PureCM - it's done automatically. If you're used to CVS or SVN, work with writable workspaces. This means you can edit files directly and then use the PureCM client to identify, group and submit your changes.

Additional features of the PureCM workspace:

  • File locking. PureCM allows you to automatically lock files based on their file type when they get checked out. Additionally, developers can also manually lock files or folders to make sure no one else can change them.
  • Synchronise. Synchronise your workspace configuration to any point in time, e.g. the last time your project compiled. This will populate your workspace with the file and folder versions at that point to allow you working from there.
  • Workspace switch. Simply switch your workspace to the new version or feature, and PureCM will automatically update its content. It's lightning-fast, as only differences to the current workspace content need to be updated.
  • Multi-path workspace. Don't need all project data in your workspace? Then use the multi-path option to select only the project subfolder(s) you need. Saving download time and bandwidth has never been easier.
  • Multi-user workspace. Sometimes, private workspaces are inappropriate. With multi-user workspaces, more than one user can access a workspace. PureCM automatically locks checked out files in a multi-user workspace to prevent changes getting overwritten.

Bookmark and Share