A version is a particular variation of the project which is being developed. For example, you might have version 1 and version 2 of an application. You need to create different versions if you work on the two versions at the same time (concurrently). Alternatively you can create different versions to help visualize your project’s progression.
Creating a Version
To create a new version of a project right-click the project and select 'New Version'. This will launch the New Version dialog.
As well as specifying the name of the version you can also specify the version on which this version is based. You will need to create the first version from scratch but after that you probably want to create version 2 from version 1. This way version 2 will inherit the same files and folders as version 1.
You can also create a version by right-clicking a version and selecting 'Create Version From'. This will launch the New Version dialog with the this version selected in the 'Based On' drop-down.
Uploading the Version Files
After creating the initial version you will be asked if you want to upload the files for this version. If you do not want to upload the files now you can always do it later by right-clicking on an empty version and selecting 'Upload Files'.
This will launch a wizard to select the local folder where the files exist. After you have selected the folder a list of all the folders and files which will be uploaded is displayed. You can uncheck any files you do not want to upload
You can view the latest files for the version by right-clicking the version and selecting 'Show Files'. This will show the stream files as described in the section called “Viewing the Stream Files”. You can also show the history of a file in this view.
Showing the Submitted Changesets
You can view all the changes which have been submitted to the version stream by right-clicking the version and selecting 'Show Submitted Changesets'. This will show the history of the stream as described in the section called “Viewing the Stream History”.
The 'Show Submitted Tasks and Releases' menu on a version is similar to 'Show Submitted Changesets' but will show the tasks rather than the changesets. This is only available if tasks are enabled as explained in Chapter 3, Tasks.
Other Version Operations
You can create a workspace to make changes on this version by right-clicking the version and selecting 'Select Workspace'. This will allow you to create a new workspace or switch an existing workspace to the version stream. Typically you would create workspaces within the Workspaces view as described in the User Guide.
You can assign a version to a user or group with the 'Assign' menu on a version. The owner of a version is important because they are responsible for making sure that changes submitted in other versions have been merged into this version. This is explained in the section called “Merging Between Versions”.
You can reject a version with the 'Administration | Reject' menu. This will hide the version so it is not visible in the tree. If a version is rejected then developers will not be able to submit changes to the version or any of its features. You can view rejected versions by right-clicking Projects in the tree and selecting 'Show Inactive Items'.
You can compare the version files with another version, feature or release with the 'Administration | Compare With' menu. This will launch the Stream Comparer dialog showing which files have been added, deleted and changed. This is described in the section called “Comparing Streams”.
If the stream for the version has not yet been created then the version will appear with the clock icon.
The stream for a version will be created when the first workspace for the version is created. This is good because it means you can plan your version with features and tasks without creating the stream (and therefore need to merge all changes from the child version). You can force the stream to be created by right-clicking the version and selecting 'Create Stream Now'.
If the version has pending changes then the version will appear with a red cross.
You can merge the pending changes by right-clicking the version and selecting 'Show Pending Changes'. This is described in the section called “Merging Between Versions”.