Chapter 9. File Permissions

Table of Contents

About File Permissions

About File Permissions

Permissions can be set to configure who can read, edit, create and delete files.

The default permissions are set within the Global Properties. These can be changed by right-clicking the server tree item and selecting 'Global Properties...'. These can be overridden within the properties of a repository, stream folder, a stream, a folder within a stream or an individual file.

Note

It is often convenient to create stream permissions for the stream folder and have all streams inherit the permissions from the parent. For example, for the stream folder 'Development' you may specify that all 'Developers' can edit files. For the stream folder 'Release' however you may specify that only 'Lead Developers' are able to edit files. All streams within these folders will therefore inherit the permissions. When you then move a stream from 'Development' into 'Release' the permissions will automatically inherit from the new stream folder.

The following permissions can be checked or unchecked:

Table 9.1. File and Folder Permissions

PermissionDefinition
Read If checked the user is able to read files and the files will be downloaded on update
Add If checked the user can add new files
Edit If checked the user can edit files
Rename If checked the user can rename files
Delete If checked the user can delete files
Folder Add If checked the user can add folders
Folder Delete If checked the user can delete folders
Folder Rename If checked the user can rename folders
Permissions If checked the user can change the permissions