Versions

Versions

A version is a particular variation of the project which is being developed. For example, you might have version 1 and version 2 of an application. You need to create different versions if you work on the two versions at the same time (concurrently). Alternatively you can create different versions to help visualize your project’s progression.

Creating a Version

To create a new version of a project right-click the project and select 'New Version'. This will launch the New Version dialog.

Figure 2.3. New Version

New Version

As well as specifying the name of the version you can also specify the version on which this version is based. You will need to create the first version from scratch but after that you probably want to create version 2 from version 1. This way version 2 will inherit the same files and folders as version 1.

You can also create a version by right-clicking a version and selecting 'Create Version From'. This will launch the New Version dialog with the this version selected in the 'Based On' drop-down.

Figure 2.4. New Version Based on Another Version

New Version Based on Another Version

Note

After creating a version the stream will not be created immediately. The stream will be created when you start woking on the version (create the first workspace). If you want to create the stream before you can right-click the version and select 'Create Stream Now'.

Uploading the Version Files

After creating the initial version you will be asked if you want to upload the files for this version. If you do not want to upload the files now you can always do it later by right-clicking on an empty version and selecting 'Upload Files'.

Figure 2.5. Upload the Version Files

Upload the Version Files

This will launch a wizard to select the local folder where the files exist. After you have selected the folder a list of all the folders and files which will be uploaded is displayed. You can uncheck any files you do not want to upload

Figure 2.6. Select Files to Upload

Select Files to Upload

You can view the version files by selecting 'Files' in the tree or right-clicking the version and selecting 'Administration | Show Files'. This will show the stream files as described in the section called “Viewing the Stream Files”. You can also show the history of a file in this view.

Version History

You can view all the changes which have been submitted to the version by selecting 'History' in the tree or right-clicking and selecting 'Administration | Show History'. This will show all the changesets submitted against this version in the order they were submitted. If a task or feature was associated with the changeset then the history will show this.

Figure 2.7. Version History

Version History

The 'Show Submitted Changesets' menu on a version is similar to 'Show History' but will only show the changesets (not the associated task or feature).

Other Version Operations

You can create a workspace to make changes on this version by right-clicking the version and selecting 'Select Workspace'. This will allow you to create a new workspace or switch an existing workspace to the version stream. Typically you would create workspaces within the Workspaces view as described in the User Guide.

You can assign a version to a user or group with the 'Assign' menu on a version. The owner of a version is important because they are responsible for making sure that changes submitted in other versions have been merged into this version. This is explained in the section called “Merging Between Versions”.

You can reject a version with the 'Administration | Reject' menu. This will hide the version so it is not visible in the tree. If a version is rejected then developers will not be able to submit changes to the version or any of its features. You can view rejected versions by right-clicking Projects in the tree and selecting 'Show Inactive Items'.

You can compare the version files with another version, feature or release with the 'Administration | Compare With' menu. This will launch the Stream Comparer dialog showing which files have been added, deleted and changed. This is described in the section called “Comparing Streams”.

Version Icons

If the stream for the version has not yet been created then the version will appear with the clock icon.

Figure 2.8. Version Without Stream

Version Without Stream

The stream for a version will be created when the first workspace for the version is created. This is good because it means you can plan your version with features and tasks without creating the stream (and therefore need to merge all changes from the child version). You can force the stream to be created by right-clicking the version and selecting 'Create Stream Now'.

If the version has pending changes then the version will appear with a red cross.

Figure 2.9. Version With Unmerged Changes

Version With Unmerged Changes

You can merge these changes by going to Unmerged Changesets in the tree as described in the section called “Merging Between Versions”.